The Thing You Have Been Missing

Is One Thing Enough?

Haya Akbik
3 min readApr 2, 2021
Photo by Mor Shani on Unsplash

Nothing great in life comes easy, and if anything the past year has definitely proved it. I for one have been struggling with knowing what has been holding me back, until I finally realized what I have been missing…

What I needed …

Was just to “Believe”.

What is “Believe” Exactly?

We can’t talk about something without knowing what it is, so let’s start by defining it.

Believe is commonly defined as “Being certain that something is true, even though there is no proof to support it.”

To be completely honest, there is no one definition for “believing” in something or someone. Each one of us has their own outlook on what this term means. Some view it as a religious term, others view it as a term to describe confidence in an idea, or something or even someone. However, no matter how you define it, you always reach the conclusion that it is based on a strong feeling and not on actual evidence.

Well, I disagree…

Are “Beliefs” Based on Emotions or Logic?

In my humble opinion, a “belief” is a mixture of both. It is certainly based on feelings that something is true regardless of having a tangible evidence of its existence. Thus, the emotional aspect of it.

Nevertheless, to form this assumption you need to have at least some percentage of logic in it.

Let me give you an example:

You “believe” that you have a great friend, which is an emotional aspect thus far. However, this feeling existed because of certain behaviors and actions that your friend made to confirm this assumption. Therefore, it appealed to your logical side as well which helped you form this “belief”.

To not bore you with examples, I am going to jump into the conclusion of it. You can see from that example that a “belief” is formed from both an emotional AND logical combination. Meaning that, when someone tells you to “believe in yourself”, it is based on some logic as well and so you should not take it for granted.

Why Are We Talking About This?

Because starting April, 2021, I am going to be writing in themes. Meaning that both my blog and Instagram posts will be revolving around a certain subject. Hence, The first blog of every month is going to be an introductory to the word of the month, which in this case is “Believe”.

This idea that was generated by my amazing sister will make it easier for you to come back to the topic that you feel like you need some extra boost in.

I hope you like this new concept! As always I will love to hear your comments, and make sure to check my other articles:

--

--

Haya Akbik

International Management & Psychology Master student by day and an aspiring writer by night..